New councillor elected in Milton Keynes by-election

    Image; Milton Keynes Labour Party on X

    Following the resignation of Councillor Brigid McBride on 9th January, a by-election took place in Milton Keynes yesterday.

    Cllr Brigid McBride, who was elected in May 2023, has said she was "no longer able to undertake her duties to a level she would want to", due to health reasons.

    Cllr McBride’s resignation triggered a by-election in the Loughton and Shenley Ward.

    It has been announced today that Labour candidate Leo Montague has been elected, meaning Labour holds onto the Loughton and Shenley seat.

    Ray Brady, Independent - 61

    Garrath Jonathan Green, Liberal Democrats - 179

    Timothy Aaron Lee, Green Party -113

    Leo Montague, Labour Party - 1136

    Rajeev Sharma, Local Conservatives - 971

    A spokesperson for the local Labour party said: "Thank you to every resident in the ward who voted Labour, and whether you did or not, Leo will continue Labour’s strong tradition of delivering for all the ward!"

    Conservative Councillor Shazna Muzammil wrote: "Fantastic by election result in a Labour stronghold. Whilst we lost it this time, there’s a huge swing towards Conservatives and we have also slashed the Labour majority in half! Well done to everyone and especially to Johnny Luk and Rajeev Sharma for campaigning really hard. Very excited for May local elections and GE."

    Sponsored Stories


    Local News


    • Sun


    • Mon


    • Tue


    • Wed


    • Thu