Labour and Lib Dems expected to remain in coalition to run Milton Keynes Council

    Image: MKFM

    Milton Keynes Council is expected to remain as 'Progressive Alliance', a Labour and Lib Dem coalition, following local election results.

    One third of Milton Keynes' Councillors are elected each year on a three-year rotation. This is then followed by a year with no local election. During 2022's local elections- there were votes up for all 19 Borough Wards, with one vacancy in each ward.

    As results have now been concluded for each ward, the Conservatives have lost two seats to Labour, but remain the largest party.

    Conservatives sit on 23 seats, Labour, 20, and Lib Dems, 14. 

    29 seats are needed for the majority.

    Similarly to 2021, despite Conservative Group being the largest party, Labour and the Lib Dems together hold the most amount of seats.

    Last year, following lengthy discussions, it was decided that Labour and Liberal Democrats would form a 'Progressive Alliance' to run a majority administration on the Council. 

    The biggest lost for the Conservatives was within the Bletchley Park ward.

    See the full election results below: 

    BLETCHLEY PARK - Labour candidate Nigel Long is elected

    Griffiths, Sarah Rhiannon LIB DEM - 219

    Long, Nigel Matthew LAB COOP - 1744

    Rankine, Allan Roy CON - 1672

    Sheppard, Michael John GREEN - 196


    Turn Out:3842 (34.45%)

    Rejected Papers:11

    BRADWELL - Liberal Democrat candidate Rex Exon is elected

    Exon, Rex LIB DEM - 1769

    Khan, Shadat Jaffar LAB - 761

    Panthula, Krishna Murthy CON - 535


    Turn Out:3083 (32.32%)

    Rejected Papers:18

    STONY STRATFORD - Labour candidate Jennifer Wilson-Marklew is elected

    Greenwood, Richard Michael LIB DEM - 285

    Lewis, David Anthony GREEN - 247

    Sharma, Rajeev CON - 1518

    Wilson-Marklew, Jennifer Mcelvie - LAB - 2295


    Turn Out:4363 (37.77%)

    Rejected Papers:18

    NEWPORT PAGNELL SOUTH - Liberal Democrat candidate Andy Carr is elected

    Brown, Stephen Michael LAB - 520

    Carr, Andy LIB DEM - 1620

    Kayani, Yusrah CON - 1068


    Turn Out:3233 (35.81%)

    Rejected Papers:25

    LOUGHTON AND SHENLEY - Labour candidate Shanika Mahendran is elected

    Clark, Stephen LIB DEM - 

    Mahendran, Shanika Caitlin LAB COOP -

    Taylor, Dominic John GREEN -

    Wilkinson, Ethan Ronan CON -

    TATTENHOE - Conservative candidate Fathima Muzammil is elected

    Bjorck, Lucy Rebecca GREEN - 268

    Malik, Rukhsana Kossier LAB - 990

    Muzammil, Fathima Shazna CON - 1167

    Walden, Steven LIB DEM - 248


    Turn Out:2695 (31.18%)

    Rejected Papers:22

    BLETCHLEY EAST - Labour candidate Mohammed Khan is elected

    French, Joe GREEN - 256

    Khan, Mohammed Delwar LAB - 1607

    Marlow, James Richard Alan CON - 951

    McCabe, Sean Douglas LIB DEM - 275


    Turn Out:3104 (25.61%)

    Rejected Papers:15

    BLETCHLEY WEST - Labour candidate Mick Legg is elected

    Adewale, Ben LIB DEM - 167

    Brady, Ray IND - 172

    Legg, Mick LAB - 1834

    Michael, Godwin Antony CON - 1418

    Segebrecht, Axel GREEN - 141


    Turn Out:3743 (35.79%)

    Rejected Papers:11

    WOLVERTON - Labour candidate Robert Middleton is elected

    Francis, Alan Herbert GREEN - 424

    Middleton, Robert James - LAB AND COOP - 2051

    Portilho, Thais LIB DEM - 177

    Street, Jonathan Sam CON - 781


    Turn Out:3446 (31.83%)

    Rejected Papers:13

    OLNEY - Conservative candidate Peter Geary is elected

    Bethune, Dee LAB - 746

    Brown, Ben INDEPENDENT - 804

    Geary, Peter James CON - 1620

    Rose, Catherine Jean GREEN - 850


    Turn Out:4034 (41.75%)

    Rejected Papers:14

    WOUGHTON AND FISHERMEAD - Labour candidate Amber McQuillan is elected

    McQuillan, Amber Teagan LAB - 1689

    Roy, Raissa LIB DEM - 240

    Vassilakis, Tatiana CON - 488


    Turn Out:2437 (21.25%)

    Rejected Papers:20

    DANESBOROUGH AND WALTON - Conservative candidate David Hopkins is elected

    Belcher, Veronica LAB - 918

    Cave, Rebecca Ann LIB DEM - 401

    Hopkins, David George CON - 1764

    Skelton, Peter William GREEN - 451


    Turn Out:3551 (33.46%)

    Rejected Papers:17

    NEWPORT PAGNELL NORTH AND HANSLOPE - Conservative candidate Liam Andrews is elected

    Andrews, Liam Jack CON - 1655

    Lloyd, Gary Nicholas GREEN - 247

    Oyakhire, Tony LIB DEM - 653

    Whild, Jane Deborah WOMEN'S EQUALITY PARTY - 214

    Wood, Carol Ann LAB - 768


    Turn Out:3555 (36.23%)

    Rejected Papers:18

    CENTRAL MILTON KEYNES - Central Milton Keynes: Labour candidate Moriah Priestley is elected

    Houchin, Russell Frederick LIB DEM - 508

    Imran, Haider Kabeer CON - 646

    Priestley, Moriah Nkechinyere Adaku LAB - 1365


    Turn Out:2545 (25.05%)

    Rejected Papers:26

    CAMPBELL PARK AND OLD WOUGHTON - Liberal Democrat candidate Nana Oguntola is elected13:09 - Next lot of results coming through

    Durugo, Christian Uzoma Chinedu LAB - 715

    Oguntola, Nana LIB DEM - 1712

    Hearnshaw, John Howard CON - 1404


    Turn Out:3851 (38.95%)

    Rejected Papers:20

    MONKSTON - Monkston: Liberal Democrat candidate Jennifer Ferrans is elected

    Ferrans, Jennifer Margaret Patricia LIB DEM - 1540

    Petchey, Martin Ronald LAB - 521

    Tamagnini, Jaime CON - 596


    Turn Out:2671 (29.22%)

    Rejected Papers:14

    STANTONBURY - Stantonbury: Labour candidate Naseem Khan is elected

    Duffield, Greg LIB DEM - 292

    Edwards, Peter GREEN - 333

    Khan, Naseem LAB - 1840

    Wright, Babs CON - 1521


    Turn Out:4007 (35.93%)

    Rejected Papers:21

    BROUGHTON - Broughton: Liberal Democrat candidate Sam Croons is elected

    Ahuja, Dev CON - 1269 votes

    Crooks, Sam LIB DEM - 1971 votes

    Dowling, Monica Stella LAB - 615 votes

    Turn Out:3869 (30.26%)Electorate:12787

    Rejected Papers:14

    SHENLEY BROOK END - Shenley Brook End: Liberal Democrat candidate Peter Cannon is elected

    Adeliyi, Ade CON - 1113 votes

    Cannon, Peter Paul LIB DEM - 1487 votes

    Nayee, Akash LAB - 610 votes


    Turn Out:3240 (33.92%)

    Rejected Papers:30

    Sponsored Stories You May Like


    Trending Stories

    Local News


    • Wed


    • Thu


    • Fri


    • Sat


    • Sun


    You May Have Missed